Our Mission
The mission of the Wayne County School District is to focus on educational experiences that foster a partnership with parents, communities, and technology to develop our students into productive citizens focusing on skills that build character, decision making, and life long learning.

Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools Wayne County Schools
Wayne County High School
Burns and Walker to Retire


After many years of loyal service to the students of Wayne County High School, we will be losing two of the best.  Mrs. Dena Burns with 30 years of service and Arlen Walker, 25 years will be retiring as of June 30th.  Good Luck and God Bless.

Singleterry chosen to play Coaches All Star Softball Game


Wayne County Lady War Eagles junior Mollie Singleterry was chosen to play in the Mississippi Association of Coaches All-Star softball game that will be played Saturday, June 4, on the campus of JCJC. SIngleterry batted .479 in leading the Lady War Eagles to the district 5-5A championship. She is a 3-time All-Division player and is a two-time Offensive Player of the Year. 

WCHS Tennis Sends Three to State Tournament


Carley Cochran, Issac Hoffman and Brooke Cran took part in the Class 5-A State Tennis Tournament.

WCHS Softball Enjoy another Successful Season


Shown are members of both the slowpitch and fast-pitch softball teams at Wayne County High School. They were honored during their annual banquet.  Head Coach Jamie Powell  praised the teams for successful seasons.


All-State: Brook Smith, Tica Watts and Mollie Singleterry.

First-Team All-District:  Payge Powe, Tica Watts, Mollie Singleterry, Kilah Dearman,

Brook Smith and Cassidy Beasley.

Second-Team All-District:  Jadacia Everett, Haley Clark, Camryn Miller and Hali-Ana Harvey.

Wayne County High School wins $1,000 in statewide contest


Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi partners with organizations like the MHSAA to support schools and communities with goals of building a healthy Mississippi. During the State Class 5-A state championship football game, BC/BS of Mississippi asked fans to text in support of their team. Wayne County was the winner of the “Text to Win” contest, beating Oxford and winning $1,000 for the school’s P.E. program. Shown are WCHS supervising principal Robert Hathorn (L), head football coach Todd Mangum (M) and MHSAA representative Todd Kelly (R).


2016 WCHS Baseball Awards Banquet Held


The 2016 Wayne County High School Baseball Awards Banquet was recenty held. Award winners are pictured seated: (L-R): Jared Cochran, Keiveon Howard, Ben Powell, Brady Walters, Logan Overstreet. Standing (L-R): Tre Williamson, Tanner Wells, Lane Stokley. 

Logan Overstreet was named to the second team All-State squad by the Class 5-5A coaches.

Read More
Brooke Cran signs tennis scholarship with JCJC


Brooke Cran (seated middle) signs a tennis scholarship with JCJC. Pictured with Brooke are her parents Tanya and Anthony. Standing (L-R) Meagan Garner, Sheri Bowen, Jenci Baygents, Russell Herring, Kim Bunch and Brody Bunch.


WCHS Band Seniors sign Scholarships


Wayne County High School seniors signed college band scholarships recently.

Pictured sitting (L-R) Mia McFadden (William Carey), Cammy Conner (JCJC) and AbbiGail Johnson (Mississippi Gulf Coast). Standing (L-R) Chris Powe (JCJC), Fredriq Craft (JCJC), DeMonTraye McDonald (MSU), Shakur Sargent (JCJC) and Stephon Mayfield (JCJC). Not pictured Taylor Hall (MSU).


WCHS Soccer Awards Presented


WCHS Soccer Team All-District Selections

 These Wayne County soccer players were named to the All-District 5-5A team recently. Pictured kneeling are Zack Loper, Issac Hoffman and Brett Reynolds. Middle row are Brittney Sims, Peyton Atkinson, Courtney Cochran, Amberlee Miller and Brandilyn McCary. Back row: Aaron Beasley, Noah Collinsworth and Drake Dufrene. Not pictured: Sarah Sellers and Tykerra Arrington.



Read More
2015 - 2016 WCHS Basketball Awards Banquet held


WCHS Basketball Banquet Award winners are pictured: seated (L-R) Reggie Stewart, Rameik Wallace and Quentin Pough. Middle Row (L-R): Coach Ratassia Worsham,  Nia Henderson, Stalexius Davis, Curtisha Coleman and Coach Kendrick Davis. Back Row (L-R): William Carey coach Steve Knight, Marquis Powe and William Gaines.


Read More
War Eagle Football Team Honored By Mississippi Legislature

Members of the Wayne County War Eagles football team were honored this week by the Mississippi Legislature. The War Eagles claimed the Class 5-A MHSAA State Football Championship back in December with a heart pumping 45-41 win over Oxford at Vaught-Hemmingway Stadium. The House of Representatives read a proclamation praising the team and their accomplishments. They were hosted by Shane Barnett of Waynesboro and Dennis DeBar, Jr of Leakesville.

Read More
digital school network
cms login Intranet login RSS
Wayne County High School
1325 Azalea Dr
Waynesboro, MS 39367  

Phone: 601.735.2851 
Fax: 601-735-1389